TOYOTA GAZOO Racing – About

Unleashing the power of the GR DKR Hilux Evo T1 (2024) for Dakar2024! Features Twin Turbo Petrol engine, 264 kW @ 5,300 rpm, and 620 Nm torque. Safety is paramount with an FT3 Safety Cell fuel tank (540 liters). Get ready for an adrenaline-packed Dakar ride!

Toyota Gazoo Racing (TGR) enter the 2024 Dakar Rally as defending champions. The 2024 Toyota Dakar Rally team will still be led by a former champion in Giniel de Villiers. Co-driver Dennis Murphy will take his regular seat alongside the Capetonian driver. The pair brings a wealth of experience to proceedings. The rally veterans will lead the SA charge that consists of Guy Botterill and Brett Cummings. The pair claimed their maiden victory on the South African Rally-Raid Championship earlier this year. Youngster Saood Variawa will be the other local driver on the team, who is joined by experienced French co-driver, Francois Cazalet.

The SA trio will be bolstered by two international crews. The first new crew will see Lucas Moraes paired with former biker Armand Monleón as co-driver. Moraes was one of the stars of the 2023 Dakar Rally. He now steps up from a privateer Hilux into the works team. Seth Quintero will be partnered with co-driver Dennis Zenz as the last TGR entry. The pair were recently crowned T3 Lightweight Prototype W2RC champions.

The team will be competing in the T1+ category. They will be driving the same type of Hilux that conquered the grueling race in 2023. The squad of 3,5-litre turbocharged V6 machines will start racing in Saudi Arabia on January 5. Over 5 000 km of harsh terrain awaits them before the end on January 19.